Toddler Times – Zucchini Bread

I’ve been keeping a journal for LP about everyday life with her and lately, she’s started asserting independence.  Which means, I might have to spend a bit more time thinking about what to write other than ‘ohmyword you were crazy cranky today and nothing made you happy.”  I’ve been trying to find at least fun thing to do with her each day, and I’ll try and share some of them here.
We had some leftover zucchini from a recipe a few nights ago, so I decided to make some zucchini bread.  We try to avoid white flour around here, so it took a bit of searching online to find a recipe for 100% whole wheat zucchini bread.  And then today, I realized I had no idea what LP and I were going to do together.  So I decided to let her help me bake.  Since she’s only 16 months, her part was pretty much just stirring and eating.  I set all the ingredients out and pre-measured them into bowls so she could dump them in.  She wasn’t interested in that.  Of. Course.  But she was interested in stirring.  Our table is covered in DH’s work stuff and things for me to put away, so we utilized the floor.

 

 

 

Of course, we had to bring our goldfish crackers to help us stir…

 

LP also helped me put them in the oven by pushing the “start” button on the timer.

Wow, I didn’t realize how disgusting my oven is.  (We have no self-clean option so I’m lazy about it).  Guess I’ll have to get on that.

 

Then we had to wait for it to cook, and cool.  But finally (after naptime) we got to the best part – eating!

 

Big, big hit.  We’re definitely going to try cooking time again sometime.  The recipe we used was this one from King Arthur Flour – 100% Whole Wheat Zucchini Chocolate Chip Bread, and I substituted coconut oil for the vegetable oil.  This recipe is a keeper.

Leave a Reply

